Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you

Courses, the founding stone of students' academic learning, have been valued and even trigger heated discussions. Some people argue that students should take courses with professors whose classes they have never taken before. Contrary to these people's views is my perspective that we should take courses taught by professors with whom we have already had other classes during our past years of study, which contributes to our learning efficiency and academic research.

What should be prioritized is that we should enroll in modules taught by familiar teachers. Compared with courses educated by strange professors, we can improve our learning productivity. After attending the professor's other courses, we will be familiar with his pedagogical tactics, such as his speaking speed and the time spent answering questions. By knowing the professor's teaching strategies, we can have better preparation for the courses. For example, if the professor speaks fast, making us hard to follow in the class, we can review the textbook and scrutinize the concepts beforehand, which can help mitigate the situation and facilitate us to master the subject. Therefore, our productivity may increase. On the contrary, if we take courses educated by professors we do not know, we may find it arduous to adapt to their teaching method. Under this scenario, our learning efficiency may deteriorate. For example, a professor who never explicates complex math equations may lead us to struggle in mathematical deduction if we have already gotten custom to other teachers who teach with details. Thus, taking modules from a different professor may be destructive.

What should be equally worth discussing is that learning with the professor we are already acquainted with is conducive to our research achievement. In the university, if we have a strong interest in a research topic conducted by a certain professor, we can take the initiative to join the group. This motivation is based on the fact that one has already had a deep understanding of a professor's research interest and also knows about his personality. To a certain extent, only by taking courses taught by a certain professor can we have these insights. Thus, taking courses instructed by familiar professors could provide us with information relating to the professor’s disposition and research thesis. Take me as an example. Professor Zeng was the teacher of Introduction to Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning. I took the first course when I was a freshman, and then I continued to take the second course when I was a sophomore. After continuously taking these two courses, I was intrigued by the magic of AI and knew Prof. Zeng is a prominent researcher. Then I joined his lab, and finally, I had a publication in a well-known AI journal.

To conclude, only by taking courses conducted by familiar professors can we be more efficient and have excellent research opportunities.