Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study, or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you have never taken before? Why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

University gives students various opportunities to take their favorite courses. While some students prefer to take courses with professors whose classes they have never taken before, I rather choose courses taught by professors with whom I have already had other classes during my past years of study.

Admittedly, some people may argue that taking modules from a different professor will expand their knowledge scope and broaden their horizons. Students are still developing their attitudes towards life and society, and they are easily influenced by others, which can be validated by the fact that many teenagers start smoking, drinking, or even doing drugs just because they want to follow others. If they take several courses from one particular professor, students will be circumscribed in one particular professor’s perspective towards the world, which may not best suit them or even mislead students in the future. However, professors themselves tend to have a diversified view of society, and students will learn how to view the world from different angles.

Actually, taking modules from the same professor can ease students’ pressure to some degree. Students have already been occupied with heavy academic burdens, like doing experiments, preparing presentations, and writing theses. Especially for those who want to go to work after graduation, they have to take part-time jobs to earn experience for the future. They don’t have much time to relax as a result, which may lead them to be overwhelmed with fatigue and even suffered from stress-related diseases, such as insomnia and depression. Nevertheless, with a professor I am already familiar with, I am more likely to know how heavy the course load will be and how intensified the course content will be, so I can adjust my schedule to best accomplish the course with the least time spent.

Moreover, taking courses from the same professor will deepen my understanding in a specific academic realm. Courses are not separate but have some inherent connections in between. If courses are taught by the same professor, then the connection will be much stronger and students can really build a grand picture about this subject. Take me as an example, when I take economy courses in my university, I choose the micro and macro economy from the same professor, and I really have a better grasp of our country’s economic situation.

In conclusion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and I prefer taking courses from the professors I am already familiar with.