Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The development of our society raises a higher concern for education. While some people prefer not grading students’ homework or exams, I consider that marks will encourage students to learn.

Admittedly, grades will put extra pressure on students. Nowadays, students have already been choked with not only academic burdens, like doing experiments, preparing presentations, and writing the thesis, but also substantial personal issues, like the maintenance of friendship and dealing with temptation from games and social media. Students will be compared with each other based on scores they get from schools, and those who are poor in academics may be extremely nervous and sad. There is no wonder that some students will be absent-minded now and then, and some even suffer from stress-related diseases, such as insomnia and depression.

However, this kind of pressure is essentially important to students. No one will succeed without devoting all energy. The pressure is just a way to force you to work harder. Disappointing grades means one still needs to work hard in some directions and one tends to devote all heart to it to improve the grades. Without pressure, nevertheless, students may be more relaxed during the semester, thinking they have already achieved their best in academics, and not until the final exam will they find they are not that good, and it would be too late to compensate.

Moreover, by grading, students can better learn exactly how well they grasp the knowledge. A mark can subjectively state which level students are at and what directions students should fight towards. One of my personal experiences can serve as an example to illustrate that. In junior high, our math teacher took a month off for some personal issues. During that time, though there was another math teacher who took his part, the new teacher didn’t grade or even sometimes check our homework. Since we had no idea how good or bad we were, everyone in the class just gradually put less effort into homework, dreaming as long as we listened carefully during the class, we would still do well in the final exam. As you could imagine, nearly half the class failed the exam as a result.

In conclusion, I advocate that grades will encourage students to learn.