Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The development of our society raises a higher concern for education. While some people prefer not grading students’ homework or exams, I consider that marks will actually encourage students to learn.

Admittedly, grades will put extra pressure on students. Nowadays, students have already been choked with not only academic burdens, like doing experiments, preparing presentations, and writing the thesis, but also substantial personal issues, like the maintanence of friendship and dealing with attemptation from games and social media. Students will be compared with each other based on scores they get from schools, and those who are poor in academic may be extreme nervous and sad. There is no wonder that some students will be absent-minded now and then, and some even suffer from stress-related diseases, such as insomnia and depression.

However, this kind of pressure is essentially important to students. No one will succeed without devoting all energy. The pressure is just a way to force you work harder. A disappointing grade means one still need to work hard in some directions and one tend to devote all heart into it to improve the grades. Without pressure, nevertheless, students may be more relaxed during the semester, thinking they have already achieved their best in academic, and not until final exam will they find they are actually not that good, and it would be too late to compensate.

Moreover, by grading, students can better learn exactly how well they grasp the knowledge. A mark can subjectively states which level students are and what directions students should fight towards. One of my personal experience can serve as an example to illustrate that. In junior high, our math teacher took a month off for some personal issues. During that time, though there was another math teacher took his part, but the new teacher didn’t grade or even sometimes check our homework. Since we had no idea how good or bad we actually were, everyone in the class just gradually put less effort into homework, thinking as long as we listened carefully during the class, we would still do well in the final exam. As you could imagine, nearly half the class failed the exam as a result.

In conclusion, I advocate that grades will encourage students to learn.