Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The development of our society raises a higher demand for working collaboratively, and people expect that they can communicate with their teammates more efficiently. Some people prefer discussing face to face, while I think it is more efficient and productive to use e-mail.

To begin with, discussing face to face can be somehow too inconvenient. Difficulty already lies in commuting a long distance to attend a group meeting in the past, especially for those big companies. Nowadays, with the covid-19 situation evolved and intensified around the world, it is much harder and more dangerous for people to get together. The facts that countless airlines have been cancelled, abundant cities are still in lockdown, and a large number of people are in quarantine suggest that it is even impossible to gather together. With e-mail, on the other hand, everyone can get in touch with others just with one click. My experience can serve as an example to illustrate that. There was one research project that we put entire effort on. However, when it was about to finish, the pandemic started and it interrupted the entire workflow. We used to discuss in person, and this sudden change really drove us crazy and we didn’t know what to do. By switching to e-mail, we surprisingly found that we were still able to, even more efficiently, share our ideas. It is the e-mail that kept our project alive and we finally made it in due time.

Moreover, it is more time-saving to discuss through e-mail. Considerable people have already been occupied with heavy work and family burdens. Especially for those who just graduated, they have to spend extra time getting familiar with the work content, dealing with housing problems, and maintaining the relationship with their lovers, which result in a relatively tight schedule. If they are required to attend a meeting now and then, it will take them additional time, which may not be able to find a vacant slot in their fully arranged schedule. Besides, it is often the case that not all teammates are required for every discussion. Nevertheless, with e-mail, people will think carefully about who should join in the discussion and who just needs a notification. It will actually make team members more productive.

Admittedly, it is more likely to can get an immediate response when talking face to face. Yet, an immediate response may not always be the correct one, since people tend to make mistakes when they speak without a second thought. On the contrary, e-mail enables us to consider every detail thoroughly to finally conclude a really helpful response. Only in this way, a better work will be produced.

In conclusion, I believe that an excellent result will be yielded when team members communicate with others by e-mail instead of in person.