It is commonly believed that in life, success is not the most important thing; it is more important to remain happy and optimistic when we fail.

The development of society empowers us with various opportunities to succeed. While a number of people insist that success is the most significant goal, I agree that remaining happy and optimistic when we fail is more important.

To begin with, pursuing success can be extremely stressful. Nowadays, considerable students, for example, have already been occupied with heavy academic burdens, like doing experiments, preparing presentations, and writing theses. Especially when we are chasing our dreams, we have to spend abundant time solving difficulties, developing grand pictures, and practicing. There is no wonder that a number of people have little time to relax and are overwhelmed with fatigue, some are even suffering from stress-related diseases, such as insomnia and depression. Nevertheless, despite working hard day and night, a group of people may still fail to fulfill their dreams. Instead of just giving up one’s dream, it is of vital importance to remain optimistic afterward, in order to recharge oneself to better prepare for the next battle. One of my personal experiences can serve as an example to illustrate that. When I was fighting for the national scholarship, I learned every course to the best, devoted myself to volunteer services and students affairs. However, I was still outperformed by others. Instead of just giving up, I work even harder and finally succeeded the next year.

Besides, treating failure with peacefulness will enable us to better learn from the failure. If one treats failure as a complete disaster, one is more likely to force oneself to forget the entire experience and stop fighting right away. On the contrary, an optimist will consider failure as a typical barrier one have to cross during the way to final success, and one will learn every lesson from this precious adventure and try to avoid failure next time.

Moreover, failure sometimes is another kind of success. That is to say, when I encounter something that does not suit my expectation, I tend to consider it a failure at the very beginning. Yet, when I look more carefully and in-depth into it, I may find I accidentally find a solution or answer to another question. If I just give up and ignore the whole thing, I will definitely never discover that and that would be a true failure.

In conclusion, treating failure with happiness and optimism will encourage people to fight harder and they will more likely to succeed in the future.