It is commonly believed that in life success is not the most important thing It is more important to remain happy and optimistic when we fail Do you agree with this idea

Some people believe that remaining happy and optimistic in life is more important than success itself. I totally agree with this idea and would like to explain my opinion with reasons and examples as below.

First, we generally want success to become happy in the end. If there are two choices, one is success without happiness and the other is happiness without success, I surely would choose the latter without hesitation. Success lacking happiness is totally meaningless or at least less important than being happy and optimistic in life. For example, one Korean actress got married with a son of Samsung family in 20 years ago. She was beautiful, famous and married with a rich man of Samsung family. Most people envied her who had everything and she seemed to be the most successful woman in Korea. However, several years later she got divorced and she was interviewed that she was not happy at all during the marriage period. At that time, we could realize that happiness cannot be bought by richness, beauty and popularity.

Second, the standard of success is not an absolute one to measure or judge. It is a just relative one, so it is so difficult to say how much power or money can be regarded as a success. It is strongly depending on the level of self-satisfaction, happiness and appreciation. Most successful people do not want to regard them as successful men, so they are continuously spending most of their time to get a higher success, even sacrificing the happy time with family and friends for their success. For instance, one big Korean game company owner made a suicide few months ago. He was a top 10 richest person in Korea and his company was so successful in the world game industry. However, he had tremendous stress and burden to make new big hit games continuously to keep his success. Finally, he could be out of the success-winning race through terminating his life at the end.

To sum up, success looks like giving us perfect happiness, but it does not guarantee real happiness, because winning success is similar to an endless race without break. Actually, real success can be acquired from happy mind such as self-satisfaction and appreciation. In this regard, I fully support the idea that happiness and optimism are much more important than success in life.