A city wants to help teachers of its high school students(age14-18)improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1)Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2)Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers,using online material that each teacher will study individually.

The development of our society raises a higher demand for education. Not only do students face a wider range of knowledge than before, but teachers are required to improve their efficiency. Therefore, the classes for teachers to enhance their teaching skills are in need. As for the given choices, I believe using online training material that each teacher will study individually is more reliable and beneficial.

Admittedly, I concede that choosing a small group of excellent teachers to attend the class first and then providing that training for other teachers in school is acceptable. Those experienced teachers who attend the class at first can make the courses more detailed and suitable for their own school circumstances by combining what the professors said with their own strategies and techniques. Therefore, other teachers in school who are less professional can understand the courses more clearly and know how to exert abstract knowledge in daily life. Additionally, having classes face to face can create a comfortable phenomenon for all participants to have a thorough discussion to perfect teaching strategy.

However, the first method is too time-consuming for teachers. As is known to all, teachers have already been choked with heavy teaching burdens, like correcting students’ homework, preparing courses every day and answering students’ questions. Especially for those who have to teach several classes, it is very common for them to work late at night. Thus, their schedule is relatively tight. If they are required to attend extra intensive classes, it will take them additional time, which may not be able to find a vacant slot in their fully arranged schedule. But if the classes are online, like MOOC, teachers can have classes when they are free since they do not have to follow a set schedule and can watch the class anytime and anywhere. Thus, they have more time to really digest the intricate information.

Furthermore, providing online material allows teachers to select what part of the lecture they are going to listen to by themselves. Each teacher has his own realm and it is possible that what experts impart is something several teachers have already known. So it can be a waste of time and energy for them. But by studying online, they are free to choose the lectures that are fit for them. Meanwhile, there are more resources online except lectures, for instance, video clips and softwares. That means teachers can better strengthen their abilities in multiple ways, which is more effective, and they will have a deeper insight into the new teaching skill.

In sum, I prefer studying online individually since teachers can have a comprehensive grasp of the teaching skills with great ease and convenience and it allows them to have more time to actually exercise it.