Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often viewed as a bad quality for a person to have, but, in fact, it is a good quality for a person to have.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Our life is made of decisions. While some people consider taking a lot of time to make an important decision is a bad quality, I think it is actually a good quality that everyone should value.

Admittedly, taking too long for a decision slows our pace. Nowadays, students, for example, have already been occupied with doing experiments, writing the thesis, and preparing presentations. Especially for those who want to go to work after graduation, they have to take part-time jobs to earn experiences for the future. Thus, one has to be decisive to fit everything into a relatively tight schedule. If people spend considerable time on just one decision, then they likely fail to accomplish other issues in due time.

Nevertheless, our life isn’t made of numerous independent decisions, rather one decision after another, which has some inherit connections in between. If we think thoroughly and carefully before making the most important one, then it won’t take too long for the remaining decisions to be made, since we just need to make the one that best supports the previous one. That is to say, it is actually time-saving in the long run. On the other hand, if people just make decisions without a second thought, then they won’ t be able to draw a grand picture in their mind, and therefore, they tend to be easily satified by a suboptimal solution that merely suits the current problem. After several rounds, they will likely find that they already get lost and it is too late to compensate.

Moreover, an important decision frequently needs intensive researches in advance. Important decisions are not just about what to wear today or what haircut I want, but more like deciding future life directions. Any alternative should be thoroughly considered and explored. It is often the case that we may encounter several choices that are beyond our understanding, and instead of rushing to the final conclusion, we should rather better prepare ourselves. One of my experiences can serve as an example to illustrate that. The first important decision an undergraduate would make is choosing the major. At first I barely know anything about any major, and only after doing lots of research online and asking various senior students, alumni and professors, did I finally choose Biomedical Engineering as my major. This major allows me to dig into the secret of human brain anatomy and function from an engineer's perspective, which suits my desire well. Yet, my roommate chose the major just based on his first impression and rumors he learned in senior high, and not until his junior year did he realize it is completely opposite as what he expected.

In conclusion, I advocate that we should spend abundant time thinking carefully before we really make the important decisions.