Whether to take a gap year?

With the development of our society, there is a growing trend that people are eager to visit different cities or countries since long-distance traveling is no longer a difficulty. Therefore, many students assert that they should take a gap year before attending university. From my perspective, I totally advocate this point of view on the basis of plenty of benefits that taking a gap year produces.

During the gap year, students can get fully relaxed. Under the high pressure to get admission to a famous university, students are choked with lots of homework and tests in senior high. It is common that students feel reluctant to communicate with others and lose temper when facing some major setbacks. If students failed to attend their ideal university, they would be easily overwhelmed with sadness. Taking a gap year, however, helps students to escape from the stress. Traveling around or volunteering overseas will distract the youth from their worries and unhappiness, inducing them to focus on something else, which is more interesting, relaxing and meaningful. It is also a chance for them to fulfill their fantasies. By taking the gap year, the youth can get refreshed and refuel their engine.

Also, the gap year is also beneficial to their health. While preparing for the admission exam, students may stick to their reference books for a long time, possibly, till midnight. This sedentary and irregular lifestyle can do severe harm to students’ health, causing obesity and near-sighted issue. During the gap year, without pressure, the youth will get enough time to exercise, to establish their healthy lifestyles. Traveling outdoors, for instance, the youth may reduce their time on digital devices sharply, but be busy with enjoying the picturesque scenery and chatting with fellows. No more nights that were hard to fell asleep, during the trip, it is more likely that they acquire enough and sound sleep. All these factors will lead to a stronger body to overcome the following university life.

What’s more, the experience the youth gained not only will enrich their knowledge but expand their horizons. In senior high, students are required to learn some tough and theoretical courses, and the only approach to determine whether they have a brilliant grasp is through boring and limited exams. During the gap year, it is time for them to practice what they have learned in a more real and mutual way, and at the same time, have a deeper understanding. One of my personal experience serves as an effective example to illustrate this idea. After many years of learning in English, I first visited the U.S. last year, just in my summer vacation before I get admission to the university. It was not until then did I realize that some English expressions I learned were quite old-fashioned and inappropriate. Through this trip, I did have a closer view of America cultures and how Americans lived and talked, far beyond what I received from textbooks. If I had given more time staying in the U.S., owned my real gap year in other words, I would have a more fruitful experience.

In sum, taking a gap year is definitely worthy. It does not mean hanging out an entire year doing nothing crucial, it is certainly an excellent way for the youth to strengthen themselves, both physical and mental, to get well prepared for the next stage of life.