Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While some believe that young people have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole, I disagree with the statement for the following reasons that will be explored in the ensuing paragraph.

Firstly, young people are more likely to be aware of the new technologies that evolve so quickly nowadays. In other words, they are more familiar with machines and their complex functions than elder people. That is because of their advanced education compared to 100 years ago. Therefore, they have the required tools to change and improve society by being involved in decision-making and employing their knowledge for the sake of a better society. My personal experience is an illustration of this concept. My husband and I wanted to buy a new house and we were searching for our perfect house but, we were confused. Thus, we asked our son who was a great help to us. He suggested that we look for a smart house that allows all machines to be controlled with a remote control or through your phone. We took his suggestions seriously and got our dream house. This house turned out to be convenient and made our lives easier with this smart technology. If I didn’t involve my son in this crucial decision, we would have been looking for this house till now. Obviously, youth are critical members of any developing society. They have a major impact on improving society’s daily lives by providing ambitious perspectives.

Secondly, politically speaking; incorporating young people in decision-making is pivotal for society’s national security. To be specific, excluding youth and disparaging their standpoints harm the coherence of society. Throughout history, never did it end well when the elders in charge tried to shut down youth. That’s because youth have the desire and capacity to transform the world. And, are looking for opportunities to do so. Thus, accommodating them as a part of society will assist in conveying their energy and viewpoints to the right place. The civil rights revolution is a compelling example of this. If people in charge had involved these young people from the start, they wouldn’t have felt the urge to call for civil rights. Accordingly, youth are a part of society that can't be ignored or belittled. As a matter of fact, they keep society adhered together.