Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Youth is wasted on the young. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Youth is the most precious period in life. Youngsters establish their future in their youth and obtain the essential skills for both their personal and their professional life. There are two distinct schools of thought. Some insightful people agree that youth is wasted on the young; some others, however, disagree. I agree with the statement to some extent and here are my justifications.

To begin with, regarding the pernicious effects of some advertisements on the internet and bad friends, many youngsters get addicted to drugs and alcohol. This issue is one of the most critical problems in today’s world, which led to destruction of countless families. Youngsters become irresponsible and spend their time entirely for taking pleasure. They not only become arrogant and irritable towards their family, but also demolish their life. Since they did not found their purpose yet, they just wander and rely on anything to relive themselves.

Besides the above-mentioned issue, many youngsters waste their time by choosing a wrong career, in my opinion. Due to misleading guidance from friends and family members or due to some improbable concatenation of circumstances, they follow a career that lead to nothing but waste of time and money. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was alluded above; many youngsters are persuaded to follow a career as a musician or an actor due to misleading and tricky effect of celebrities and propaganda about their lifestyle. Nevertheless, a few numbers of them manage to succeed and majorities of them fail desperately.

Having discussed this contention from this viewpoint, I rather look at it from another perspective. Some sophisticated people assert that the youth is the best and happiest time in our life, in which the youngsters find their interests, discover their talents, shape their personality, complete their education, and develop the basic skills for life. With good parenting method and spending time with proper friends, the youngster can get motivated to pursue their dreams and achieve success.

All in all, in many societies the question of whether the young wasting the youth has become a contentious issue of debate among the psychologists and caused quite a stir in numerous circles and camps. For me, I agree with the statement to some extent based on the arguments in the body paragraphs.