Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose.Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Zoos are places were wild animals are kept for the purpose of preservation and tourism. Thus, the question of if zoos have any useful purpose is highly controversial. Zoos of nowadays now serve the purpose of tourism and revenue generation, rather than preservation. While some group of people may want to say that zoos are indispensable and must be kept, another exponentially increasing segment of people, in contrast, are of the opinion that zoos are not necessarily useful and so,should be wiped off. For me, I concur with the opinion that zoos should be eradicated and the rationale behind my viewpoint will be elaborated in the trailing paragraphs.

To begin with, what is the purpose of today's zoos? Surely, they are for profit making. In contemporary times, we realize that zoos do not serve the original purpose of preserving endangered species, rather, they are now an avenue for zoo keepers to make money. For instance, when I visited the zoo last month, I realized that although in the zoo, these animals are not properly fed. Let's take a tiger I saw for example, that tiger was so thin that the outline of its' skeletal system was unveiled. I mean, these animals are purely to entertain and pump in money from tourists because everybody wants to see some wild animals.

Second point is, are these zoos really safe for onlookers? I will answer that question with an illustration. It is kind of expected of hungry wild animals to pounce on anything that assumes the form of food. Like I was saying, during my visit to the zoo, a hungry leopard gripped powerfully, the hands of a little boy who was trying to feed it with some candies. It tore the hands to pieces and left the boy maimed for life, but this would have been avoided if there were no zoos in the first place. Moreover, zoos bring onlookers to a very close contact with wild animals, and we tend to forget that they are still wild animals, their true nature cannot be changed regardless of the number of injections they are forced to receive.

Finally, I wail to establish the most important fact that these animals are being unfairly imprisoned. Apart from the fact that these animals were unwillingly captured, they are made to endure the pain of being kept in unnatural conditions, being starved inexplicably, and forced to pose for the camera. To a very large extent, these animals are being exploited for an indefinite span of time. Only if they were humans, then they would have been able to receive justification from human right activists. But no, because it is not in their power to decide how they want to eat, where they choose to live, who they prefer to mate with, they are continually being made to dwell in unnatural homes. Tell me, why should they be whipped mercilessly for trying to break out in order to run away to a more habitable environment?

In a nutshell, the idea of a zoo is not practical because it is solely for profit making, spectators are unsafe, and lastly, because animals are not in their natural environment. Thus, zoos should be eradicated without further ado.