Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that students should pass specific courses to graduate. In this regard, taking which courses as a compulsory or an elective is of paramount importance. There has been no shortage of debates among scholars on whether students should not take the history course as an obligatory or this course should be fixed in every students’ program. As for this writer’s opinion, I will subscribe to the latter idea. In what follows, I will elaborate on the most crucial reasons to substantiate my perspective.

The first compelling reason is that history course helps students to broaden their horizons. It is clear crystal that in every society some issues arise and people need to know how to behave against them and how to make a decision. It is noteworthy that people have to study about occurrences in the past to expand their perspective in order to decide better. As a case in point, the election is one of the most crucial events in every society in which individuals should choose the better candidate based on the past elections. Had individuals not known about the past occurrences they would have chosen the invaluable candidate and as a result, the worse candidate people select, the worse condition forms in the society. This example clarifies that everyone needs to study history in his or her life.

Furthermore, the history course gives a person important information about his ancestors and himself, too. It is noteworthy that the manner of living of ancestors explained just in history books, therefore, a person can learn about his ancestors, how they lived or how they behaved, by studying historical books. In addition, this information would give a person this opportunity to know about his personality, too. By way of illustration, last year, I had decided to read more historical papers about my ancestors which are about my father’s family. Only when I finished that historical papers, did I know myself and my father better. After that, not only did I try to find more such papers but also I have started to write my own memories for the next generation. This example clearly illustrates historical information would be beneficial for learning and understanding about ourselves

By perusing the above reasons, one can infer that taking history course would be beneficial for students. For the sake of brevity, a couple of points are worth restating: firstly, history course expand students’ minds in order to recognize problems around them; secondly, students become familiar with their ancestors and their beliefs. As for the writer’s advice, I highly urge individuals to take a history course at the university.