Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities have changed over the past few decades, and some of them are not requiring students to take history courses. Personally, I believe it is still extremely important to study some history materials. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, studying history subjects provides an infrastructure to develop new ideas. Most university students try to do research, so they need to learn how things were born. Consequently, they will learn the basics and they might change a little bit on it to develop a new invention. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a junior student, I took an introductory pharmacology seminar. The professor began each lecture by focusing on the history of the pharmacological class and the structure of the drugs. This provides me with a good idea about the basic of drugs. In my senior year, I did a research by taking the advantage of the basic structure and adding some other things (pharmacological action bonds). As a result, my new drug is in the invention office for approval. Had I had not studied the history and the basic of medications structure, I would not have invented a new drug.

Secondly, history courses give chances for us to pride our ancestors. The older generation did a lot to build, create, invent, and make our world great to live, and as a result, it is very important to teach all the students the history of everything. So, they can take them as a role model. For instance, my brother, who is studying at Yale University, recently made a new light. That is mainly because he visited Thomas Edison house and he is the role model for my brother. In my opinion, if my brother had not studied about Thomas Addison, he would not have created a new light.