Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although it is generally acknowledged that studying history contributes to students’ development, from my perspective, compulsory history courses for all university students are improper and unrealistic.

First and foremost, the required history courses are improper to a university, because it violates the spirit of freedom of universities. All university students have the right to study what they interested in and refuse to engage in projects or courses that are indifferent to them. Therefore, universities should embrace all the differences of students instead of forcing them to study a specific subject. My university, for example, some students choose engineer as their major just because they dislike social science subjects like history. Imposing the history courses to them won't benefit them at all. They will get tired of it soon and start to study their engineering subjects in history class, which wastes students' time and university's money. Consequently, the mandatory history class goes against the elemental spirit of the university.

Additionally, the required history courses will deprive students of time for studying, which makes this plan unrealistic. Students are already fully occupied by all kinds of group works, assignments and examinations. It is apparent that they don't have any free time to have an extra history class. If a history course is jammed into students' tight schedules, the students will be bombarded by hectic schedules. As for me, though I love history and I am always looking forward to learning history in my university, I can hardly find time to do it. The whole week has already been filled with my nine required courses and extremely time-consuming assignments. The status quo of college students’ timetable makes this fantasy proposal untenable.

To summarize, a top-notch university is expected to enjoy a spirit of freedom, and extra history courses will deprive students of studying time. Therefore, compulsory history courses are improper and unrealistic.