Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, universities have always been struggling to offer the best set of required courses for their students. Since universities main goal is to prepare their students for real life situations in a comparatively peaceful environment and to make sure that they will benefit the society in the future. There are a plethora of people who are in the conviction that it must be mandatory for student to take history courses, whether it is completely irrelevant to their field of study or not, while others take a radically different point of view and disagree. To the extent that my personal perspective is concerned, I accord with the first group. Among countless reasons which give adherence to my point of view, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, studying history helps the students to learn about their ancestors mistakes, therefore all of them should take this courses, regardless of their field of study. For example after the revolution people were asked to vote for their desired form of state. Through reading history people were certain that the aristocratic structure of ancient societies in Iran have shown to be ineffective and were demanding a more egalitarian society. Though only formally they could speculate the most efficient form of state, but through reading history they were certain that aristocratic structures lead to oligarchy structures and therefore sparkled the formation of a more equal society. Only, through reading history and learning from their ancestors mistakes they were able to decide more efficiently and trigger the propulsion of society.

Secondly, by obligating students to study history regardless of their major, universities enable students to develop a better understanding about their own culture and even more, other countries cultures. This learning can definitely come in hand in future, since nowadays we live in multicultural societies and by acknowledging their thoughts and believes we can live together more peacefully. For example I myself never cultivated a more intimate relationship with one of my Afghan classmates, since i hated the way he would usually say hello to me. He would place his and on his chest and would never shake my hand. As a matter of fact I always thought that he wanted to make a disrespectful gesture toward me. Later I found out that when Afghans want to express their sincere feelings toward another person, they place their hand on their chest, the way that my Afghan friend would usually do toward me.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons and explanations leads to the conclusion that it's better to obligate all students to read history since it helps them to cultivate a better understanding about other cultures and helps them to learn from their ancestors.