Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social skills are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Since the beginning of this century, in the distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial topic that sports and social activities should be consider for financial aid because they are important too. Some people are inclined toward the topic that sports and social activities shouldn't be considered as a college activity, while others consider this topic in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all opposite opinions, I strongly concur with the idea that sports and social activities are as important as courses and libraries. The outstanding reasons will be mentioned below.

First, sports help students be healthy in both physically and mentally manner and it will affect their efficiency in the college, that is, by getting exercises one can avoid all the tensions during the semester. For example, since last semester I has dedicated one hour of my daily life to exercise and it helps me to clear my mind off the college issues especially during the exam weeks.

Additionally, sports and social activities help students bond with each other. Basically sports and social activities occur within a team, therefore it's an extra opportunity for students to make friends and meet new people. For example, I met this girl, called, Sarah, in the University’s gym and we keep practice with each other and we are best friends now.

Furthermore, social activities make individuals multi-dimensional, that is if one just kept studying in the university one would be a one-dimensional person who could not be as effective as the other individuals because life is a multi-dimensional issue. From my experience, for example, I have this friend, Emma, who always gets great grades but she doesn't contribute any time to other people, I mean if all the individuals of a society became so selfish it could lead to a catastrophic situation for society.

Finally, only studying and attending to the classes without no fun is going to be boring and in some cases may lead to depression between students. A study conducted between 500 students from different universities in Iran revealed that approximately 60% of the students are suffering from depression and the most surprising result was that the students of Sharif University, which is an exclusive engineering school and the most prestigious university in Iran, consist 82% of them.

To sum up, I fundamentally agree with the idea that universities and colleges have to consider sports and social activities just as important as education and contribute financial aid for them. In preceding body paragraphs, I explored all of the significant reasons for my opinion.