Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social skills are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial argument among individuals or even intellectuals. Through which numerous controversies has engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that universities should focus their resources on their classes and libraries only. However, others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made in spite of all opposite attitudes, I strongly concur with the idea that universities should also finance at sports and social skills. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

First, individuals need social skills as well as knowledge in order to get a job. It is obvious that knowledge is a fundamental factor for employers. However, today one has to be able to combine different expertise to get a job. By combining both knowledge and social skills one can be very beneficial for companies. For example, if a student had a graduate degree at management, and he or she had gotten great grades, but he or she couldn’t communicate or gave a lecture in front of the audience, he or she would never be going to be a good manager. In fact, he or she may not be employed at all.

In addition to getting a better job, living in the society needs advanced social skills. After graduation, students should be able to cope with real life struggles. Difficulties such as cooperating with other individuals in a team or managing their social life would be waiting for them. Therefore, they have to learn diverse skills to survive in the society. From my personal experience, I can say my brother is an intelligent man who has graduated in Computer Engineering with great grades. However, ever since he got married, he found out that he lacked some social skills as simple as being a good listener. Indeed, he and her wife had a lot of fights, so he decided to get help from a counselor.

Apart from the points I made above, there is also another reason that I would like to discuss about. That students should exercise in order to have a healthy life. Being healthy is very important for all of us especially for students who undergo a lot of stress during exam weeks. Therefore, exercise can be an appropriate way to relax. I can remember my days of college. With playing basketball not only could I relax my mind but also I would be able to concentrate on my studying better.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments that has explored above, I strongly agree with the statement that students should participate in sports and social activities, therefore universities had better finance on them. Because students need to have social skills in order to get hired. Furthermore, they have to cope with their real life, and finally they have to live a healthy life.