Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At university and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I don't agree with the statement that sports and social activities and classes and libraries should be equally treated financially.

Firstly, since the financial budgets of universities and colleges are limited, it is impossible to invest the same amount of money each side. The most important issue the universities is to offer places for students to learn knowledge and develop their independent thinking. Considered the limited money, the schools should focus on what they should do. Spending equally money wouldn't get the same results, because building the library is much more expensive than building a student center, if the university is planning to improve the equipment in the scientific labs, this would even be dearer. So, the uneven cost of these two investments have made it impossible to equal the budget.

Secondly, equally investment would give bad adverts for the universities. Thinking about when students are choosing universities to go, if they know the university cares so much about the student center and the athlete stadium, they would suspect the school is just using these entertaining facilities to attract new students, and the school would actually have bad research and educational ability. In contrast, more invest on equipment to add up study convenience would be an excellent advert that showing the bright side of the involvement in academic researches, which would attract more talented students and even great professors to participate in the university.

Thirdly, comparing to the students who need classrooms and libraries, fewer students need sports and social activity centers. If the university spends equally on both sides, they won't benefit all students. Since students have different preferences of doing sports and social activities, the investment on these facilities would only benefit the people who really like them, which is unfair to the students who should have the equal right to spend that amount of money. So, thins might create complaints from students. But the libraries and classes are something everyone need, no one would feel unfairness and it is less possible to create dissatisfied.