Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating childeren is more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking web site.

In the modern era, education is regarded as a crucial factor contributing to the thriving of people in social and individual facets of their lives. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the effects of technology on kids’ learning behaviors. Many people adhere to the view that technology has simplified the illiteracy process, while others believe it ruined teens’ academic lives. I firmly believe that technology has had destructive effects on schools. In what follows, I will cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the technology is attractive for teenagers which can distract them from their other duties. The proliferation of online and offline games has increased the tendency of using electronic devices for an excessive amount of time of the day. As a result, there is no energy left on young people to devote to their academic studies. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About four years ago, when I was studying for the university entrance exam, I boycott anything that was distracting for me by not having any smartphones, high tech laptops, or game stations. When I got home from school, I started studying immediately after a short break without being worried about games or social media. I believe this was the main reason that I got a good grade, and I have been accepted to a good university.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that the Internet and online sources provide an illusion of knowledge for people. This illusion makes them suppose that they do not need any teachers, and they can provide all their required information from the Internet. Although technology gives us what we need, it can not teach us the way our teachers do. Some subjects should be learned in a supervised way with the presence of somebody to observe the process of learning. For instance, when I went to college, I did not go to school for a week because of my sickness, and I decided to google the subjects that were discussed in the class to make up the missed sessions. After going back to school, I found out that I did not learn the concepts of the formulas that I found online. Consequently, I found out that I could not solve any problems just by knowing the formulas without understanding them conceptually.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that the technology makes the illiteracy process harder than in the past. Because, It distracts teenagers from doing their homework, besides it let them vaguely believe that they do not need teachers to understand the subjects.