Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Government should focus its budgets more on environmental protection than on economy.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, the development of economy is quite important for a society because it provides people with material basis of the better life quality. However, there are some other and perhaps more important things that the government should concern about. I could hardly agree more with the statement that the government should concentrate more budgets on environmental protection. And the fundamental and deeper discussions are illustrated as follows.

To begin with, environmental problems require more investment compared to economic development. For one thing, to protect environment, the government should attempt to expand public green area by planting trees. It means that the government has to raise a large amount of money to purchase plant seeds and hire a huge number of people to plant the seeds. For another, plenty of money is expected to use on the encouragement of inventions related to environmental protection. For instance, the inventions of renewable energy may completely replace the fossil fuels and contribute greatly to the air purification, which can provide people with a better living condition. To achieve this goal, the government should invest more on scientific research to encourage scientists to continuously study the problem. In contrast, the development of economy does not need such large amount of investment. What the government should do is to continuously carry out policies that can really help boost the whole economy and supervise every individual economic participant. These are some tasks that require relatively less money. Accordingly, environmental problems should receive more investment than economic development from the government.

In addition, protecting environment can bring about long-term benefits for both human beings and development of economy. Better environment can not only provide people with a life protection, but also offer the government extra chances to obtain profits. It is undoubted that investment in environmental protection could give us a guarantee of lifetime safety. This is mainly because better environment means that we could have better air condition and cleaner water, which can contribute to a comparatively healthier life for us. As for making profits, taking tourism as an example, if a country is pollution free and beautiful, it can attract a huge number of tourists from all over the world. The development of tourism can also bring about more business for the country, which can contribute to the economic development. Therefore, if the government firstly focuses on the investment of solutions to environmental problems, it could also be beneficial for economy.

To sum up, from what we have discusses, we may safely conclude that investing more on environmental problems than economic development is a rather wise decision for the government because the protection of environment indeed needs more budgets and better environment could produce long-term benefits for both human beings and economic development of the society.