Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

If parents want their children to do well at school, they

should limit the time their children spend on watching

TV.

There is no doubt that nowadays, parents can play a pivotal role in improving children's success in their school. In this regard, the most important question that arises in mind is that whether preventing children from watching TV by their parents is advantageous for their children's success in classes or not. Although some people think that watching TV programs without any limits does not harm youngsters' progress, others, including me, hold this view that there are some benefits of limiting young people by their parents to spent much time watching TV broadcasting.

The first and foremost reason are that children are not aware of the harmful effects of TV, and this is the parents' duty to inform them about the disadvantages of watching TV a lot. To clarify, parents should have their discipline to help their children in their success. One way to contribute to them is to decrease the amount of watching TV. Through this, their children will not face some physical problems in the future, such as eye weakening caused by watching TV at a lower age. Therefore, they can guarantee their health, which is contributing to their future. Take my niece as an example. When she was a child, she spent much time watching cartoons, and she did not care about its health problems. Her mother knew about the problems because when she had gone to a doctor for her baby, the doctor had told her that watching a lot of TVs had awful effects on the baby's eyesight. Had she not controlled the amount of time her daughter watching TV, her daughter's eyesight would have been weakened, and she could not have done her homework correctly.

The other equally reason is that parents, by controlling the amount of time their children watching can direct them to do other activities. If they do not watch TV a lot, they can spend time with their friends, which not only enhances their social abilities, but they can solve their class problems with their friends. As re results, the more they spend time with their friends, the more they can gain information about class materials, so they would get better results at their schools. For example, we can follow this route through some researches that have been done by Tehran university. They divided children into two groups. One group spent time watching a lot of TV programs with no limits and the other group was obliged to watch TV at some specific time. The results were surprising, the group was limited to watch TV had better results in their schools because they had enough time to collaborate with their friends to learn school subjects.

To sum up, I believe that watching TV programs should be controlled by parents. This because not only do parents know better about the negative impact on their children, but youngsters have enough time to work on their school materials with their friends.