Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When people spend a lot of time watching sports on television or following their favorite team, does it have negative effects on their lives?

No one cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that all people need to allocate much time to leisure time; this is because it is necessary for their health. Whether spending a considerable amount of time for following our favorite programs, such as watching television, has negative impacts on our life or not is a controversial subject. While many people believe that dedication of a lot of time to following these programs is harmful for us, others repudiate this claim and believe that allocating a considerable time for watching TV programs and channels does not have negative influence on us. I, personally, concur with the former viewpoint for two cogent reasons, which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs. (Unnecessary repetition of TV channels, programs, time, allocating, and so on)

The first reason to point out is that dedicating a lot of time to following and watching sports on television triggers significant pressure and stress for us. In fact, when people become dependent on these programs, their behavior changes dramatically. Besides, they stick to these programs, and when their team loses, they get upset. Moreover, many of these individuals experience heart-attack after their team’s loss. Many experiments have shown that more than 30 percent of heart attacks occur when people get involved in stressful practices such as following highly exciting football matches. My brother’s experience is a compelling example of what I mean. He was passionate fan of one of my football team in our city, named Steghlal. Once, his team had an important game, and unfortunately, they lost; after this, he suffered a fatal heart attack and lost his consciousness. We were able to transfer him to the hospital on time and save his live. Therefore, had he not got involved in the on-going football games, he would have never suffered heart attack, and he would have never jeopardized his health.

The second subtle reason is that when people get involved in these programs tremendously, they become addicted to these shows. To clarify, many people allocate a deal amount of time to never miss these programs, and they get involved in these programs gradually, and after that, they cannot abandon watching them. When this situation happens and dominates, they cannot handle their life or manage their timetable. Then, day after day, their dependence increases a lot, and finally, they cannot pursue other important life's matters. Indeed, this is like consuming drugs, and they have to consume more and more. Furthermore, they cannot go to work, or if they go to work, they will not concentrate and engage in their duties. Besides, their behavior with their family changes considerably; in fact, they do not respect their family, and their family is not important for them. Obviously, all problems stem from getting addicted to football games, which they allotted a lot of time for following them. Had they not allocated a lot of time to watch sport games, absolutely they would have never occurred these disorder, and anxious conditions for them.

To wrap it up, contemplating all the aforementioned remarks, we reach the conclusion that people should not spend a lot of time on pursuing sport games as a patrons and fans. This is because they lead to severe pressure and stress, which have detrimental outcome such as heart attack, and because they become addicted to these programs, which have significant effects on their life.