Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people spend a lot of time watching sports on television or following their favorite team, does it have negative effects on their lives?

It is no secret that in the preceding decades, following sports teams is one of the significant individual’s hobbies. Thanks to the advanced technology, people can support their favorite sports team by both going to the stadium and watching TV. The controversial question that arises regarding this issue is whether spending lots of times watching sports games on television or following the favorite team can be harmful. From my perspective, watching TV to follow some one’s favorite sports team exceedingly is detrimental. I am of this opinion because of two main reasons that I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that doing works extravagantly will be harmful, especially when it is about an adult person. Most adolescents have their regular and specific lives. They are usually obligated to do specific works and to have certain responsibilities. Often, there are families with who they should spend their spare time, or there is a deadline for an urgent project which they should meet. Therefore, if they want to follow their favorite sports team either on the television or in the stadium, they will be pushed to cancel the other plans or spending less time on playing with their children even postponing the deadlines to the different time, etc so that it has a heavy price that they should pay in the upcoming days. For the purpose of illustration, a friend of our family's used to follow one of the well-known European football teams, and for the technology is omnipresent these days; he watched the games even when he was in his office. After a while, he missed many/myriads projects. He was forced to resign from his work. Consequently, he lost his family because there was no salary to afford the expenses. Had he not followed the football games exceedingly, he would not lose not only his desired work but also his family.

The second reason that has worth to be mentioned is that watching television is harmful work when it is repeated over and over. Without a shadow of a doubt, the fruitfulness of sport and working out have been proved to every one, since watching television is kinds of sedentary activities, can have an irreversible impact on the mind and body of the observer. Based on the recent studies conducted in my country, it is demonstrated that people who follow their sports teams more than usual on television, will be susceptible to get backache more than others, unlike the real impact of what they follow in the real world, means sport.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely reach the conclusion that since individuals in the recent centuries have had hectic lives, and they are obligated to do their duties both in their personal lives and jobs, so they should manage their time and utilize their free time to follow their favorite sports team. As a result, not only can they stay up to date of the games’ result and enjoy it, but also they will not receive any harm. Moreover, it highly recommended that sports’ fans divide their times to two-part, so they can both follow their popular teams and spend the surplus time on work out to profit from its merits.