Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1. being helpful

2. being honest

3. being well organized

It is no secret that in the 21st century, nurturing children in the best way is among the most concerns of parents. The habits which children develop at earlier ages have crucial effects on their future lives and destiny. The controversial question arises regarding this issue is which of these qualities have the most prominent value to be shared with young children at age 5 to 10, being helpful, being honest or being well-organized. As far as I am concerned, being honest is what parents should consider as the crucial one. I am of this opinion because of two main reasons that I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

The first reason coming to my mind to substantiate my standpoint is that as Islam prophet, Mohammad, states “lying is the key for opening the door of other guilt”. Spending time on growing up a child who learns to persist on being honest no matter how difficult the situation is will bring about a promising future for him. Since he has trained to say the truth, he would avoid immoral activities which saying truth about them to others make him embarrassed. Back in high school, a friend of mine used to say lie about his scores. Once we found he has lied, he made another lie up. Hence he ended up getting in massive troubles, fighting with our classmates, saying back on them, etc. Had he been honest, he would not have come across with such these consequent events.

The second reason worth to be mentioned is that age 5 to 10 is the best time to practice being honest. At this crucial age of life, children do not have a tendency to lie, even they are not familiar with the subject of “being dishonest” so that there is no better time to flower this trait in them. For the purpose of illustration, recent studies conducted in my country has shown that nurture effects on children, their parents are no exception, drops dramatically after age 10. Hence it is highly recommended that parents do not postpone such an important issue to after this age.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that being honest is the most valuable quality to be shared with children. Although it is hard to disguise the importance of two other choices, being well-organized and being helpful; being honest help child not engaging in improper activities. Since he would have self-control over himself to not being embarrassed in the upcoming days. Additionally, the more children getting old, the more training them to become hard to be an honest person in the rest of their lives.