Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1. Being helpful

2. Being honest

3. Being well organized

Given the belief that appealing qualities are supposed to be cultivated as early as possible, young children are expected to embrace significant values, namely being helpful to others, honest and well-organized. Of the three values, being helpful should be prioritized.

Happiness is bound to be achieved where favor is given, since the grateful feedback from others will fill young children with joy, which, however, is distinctive from that out of games. Apparently, “thank you”, left by those who receive the assistance, justifies the favor the kids have done. Accordingly, they are impressed that helping others is marvelous so that more desire tends to arise to aid others, which will cast a profound influence on their future. As a matter of fact, numerous people obtain happiness by giving hand to others. For instance, some successful people contribute remarkably to charity, helping more people to raise living standard. Seeing the difference they have made, they are delighted that their value is realized. The case is also true to the little kids. As long as forming the habit of helping others, they are likely to possess more sources of happiness in the future.

Aside from achieving happiness, young children are able to join others if they bear in mind the importance of “Give”. In fact, those only asking without giving ought to be isolated, especially when they step into a group where cooperation is the prerequisite. Clearly, no one has the inclination to cooperate with those who are selfish. After all, cooperation itself is a mutual-learning process whereby each member makes progress. Once some members are reluctant to be helpful, they are widening the distance with others and end up separating from the group. What is worse, seldom can they make any genuine friends. It is quite common that friendship is consolidated when favor is available especially in the harsh period. If they just close themselves into the atmosphere where giving is impossible, friendship will cease to progress. Consequently, they will be left alone and helpless. Therefore, the importance of being helpful can’t be ignored in terms of socializing.

However, honesty and well-organizing are not on the top of the list of sharing. Honesty has been repeated now and then since the day children step into school. This crucial quality has already been written into the test book where vivid stories are applied to convey its importance. In other words, honesty has been deep-rooted in children’s mind. As to being well-organized, the five to ten years old children are too young to realize its meaning. Out of the instinct, children are fond of life free of constraints. Thus, forcing them to be well-organized may rid them of the pleasure they should have. Therefore, the values of honesty and well-organizing should not be put on the top agenda.

All in all, being helpful, children can not only obtain happiness, but also have a smooth involvement into the group. Therefore, the value can’t be emphasized too much.