Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1. Being helpful

2. Being honest

3. Being well organized

It is widely acknowledged that valuable qualities should be inculcated in children as early as possible, since younger children tend to be moulded more easily by the outside world than older ones. Among the three possible values—being helpful, being honest and being well-organized—I reckon honesty the most important trait that children should develop from a young age.

Honesty is without a doubt the basic principle that every individual should live by all along one’s life. Fostering this quality in young children would yield the most benefits not only for themselves but also for the community. For one thing, being honest is one of the most important considerations in any relationships, in the promotion of employees, and in the election of leaders, etc. It is not an overstatement that honesty is a prerequisite of a promising future, and there is every reason to share with young children. For another thing,dishonesty can erode any organization. For example, a person who discloses the company’s confidential information to a competitor might be the one who lied about the unfinished homework to teachers at a young age. With no warning or punishment, children might deem it not big deal to lie and have little awareness of how severe it is. One can be less helpful or not organized, but being dishonest would be disastrous. Therefore, it is imperative to educate children to be honest; the earlier, the better.

On the other hand, it is not that realistic to expect children between five and ten years old to be a big help or do things in a well-organized way. Children at this age are usually not physically or mentally mature to comprehend complex issues or figure out feasible solutions. The fact is that these abilities can only be obtained through real life experience, rather than through instructions from the elders. Furthermore, I doubt, to some extent, whether being well-organized is of benefit to children because the children’s nature of curiosity and free-thinking may be restricted. Indeed, children should not be deprived of their own way to see the world or do things, be it ridiculous or not, since this is how imagination and creativity flourish.

In conclusion, regarding the most favorable qualities that children should develop, I believe honesty should be given top priority. The reason is that honesty lays the foundation of the prosperity of both individuals and society, while the other two qualities (being helpful and well-organized) are likely either to be unrealistic or to restrict children’s development.