When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mails, they will produce better work for the project.

At workplaces or schools, it is not rare to see people discussing the projects due in a short time. In order to meet the deadlines of a particular group project, people either communicate face-to-face or by emails. Some might think that to communicate a project in person is better than emails. For me, I believe that both ways are equally important for finishing a project. None of them is replaceable.

Arranging a face-to-face meeting to finish a project for colleagues or classmates is time-saving and it brings unexpected new ideas. Initially, through meeting personally, group members work efficiently, because they get feedbacks instantly. To further explain, face-to-face talking enables participators to discuss various details of a project, rather than wasting time on waiting for replies. In contrast, to get a quick response for a complicated problem regarding a project is not practical if using emails, as replying emails involves typing and modifying formats, which could be time-consuming. Furthermore, not only can interpersonal communication save time, but it also stimulates creativity and aspirations by brain-storming and mind-mapping, which can be easily done by using pens and papers. On the contrary, such benefits can hardly be obtained when emails are used as the primary communication tool in performing a project. However, it is not to say that e-mails do not show any advantages.

E-mails is a great complement media for personal meetings with regard to group projects. Communicating through emails allow people to keep in touch anytime and anywhere as long as internet access is available. To be more specific, for students and employees, who usually deal with several assignments or tasks at the same time, it is emails that facilitate them to set priorities for different tasks. By contrast, when scheduling for a personal meeting, problems such as time conflicts or long travelling distances could be troublesome for students or employees who are already overwhelmed by heavy workload; for those cases mentioned above, e-mails are a more suitable way for communicating. Moreover, writing emails involves more thinking, thus making the responses more effective. Emails containing all the information of a project present good sources for deep-thinking and reflection. The more time people spending on thinking, the higher the quality of a project groups can achieve. However, Insights gained from replying emails can hardly be obtained from personal communications involving more talking and quick decisions.

To conclude, each way of communicating has its cons and pros. Groups in companies or schools usually adopt both to finish a project when aiming for the best performance.