One can learn a lot about a person from the type of friends that the person has.

No matter at workplace or in school, it is not rare to see small groups of people handing out together, and this phenomenon raises an interesting question that whether a person can be known by observing his or her friends. From my perspective, there are definitely a lot that can be learnt about a person though knowing his friends, such as the interests, character and even the education background. I will explain it one by one.

The first thing that we are able to know about a person by looking at the friends that he or she has is where his or her interests lie in. Friends are the ones that we spend a lot of time with, therefore, it is having the same hobbies that friends develop a strong bond. Students are a good example: nowadays, more and more students are keen on animations, and they tend to spend a lot of their time on watching animation TV series and movies, even doing cosplays together.

Also, by knowing one's friends, the characters are also observable. To illustrate, in general, there are extrovert and introvert people. Extrovert people tend to enjoy lots of friends, are talkative and easygoing, while introvert people are usually quiet, with a few intimate friends. In a great TV show "Bojack Horseman", the dog Mr. P is a typical example of an outgoing character, who always invites friends to parties. By contrary, his wife Ms. D would stay on the roof just to enjoy the breeze of UCLA. She would only talk to her friend one on one about her happiness and sadness.

Not only can we know the interests and characters of a person, but also the education background can also be deducted. Imagine a student born in a noble family in the UK. Wouldn't his friends are all from decent families and studying in a public school? What are the chances that people see this child be good friends of a new immigrant family from Asia? Other than students, adults are the same. The better the education one received, the greater opportunities that one may have. My cousin was graduated from Peking university, and after graduation, he meets with his classmates once a week to exchange ideas, to share business and working experiences and to simply enjoy a good cup of coffee. The people he talks to are his classmates and also his friends.

In fine, as a member of modern society, it is natural for us to communicate with the ones who have the same hobbies and education backgrounds. An effective way to know about a person is to talk to his friends, or to watch the way that the person interacts with his or her friends.