Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One can learn about another person from the books and movies that the person likes.

Human beings have extremely complicated behaviors; hence, gaining deep knowledge about the individual’s attitude is really difficult and nearly impossible. A controversial question here is that whether movies, books, and other materials which people follow can help us to know them or not. Personally, I believe that human is a complex creature; so, the media are not effective to gain enough information about them. To support my opinion, I will elaborately discuss about the idea in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the psychological behaviors and opinions of the human, this amazing creature with full of complexity, are unpredictable. Every day numerous research papers are publishing that inform us about various unbelievable features in humans that amaze us extremely. Therefore, it is hilarious, if we suppose that we can know someone by just looking at his/her interests. This complex creature is not as easy as a book or movie; hence, not only can not we know a person completely by their favorite books, movies, music, and so on, but also we can not understand them after several years of communication.

Another worthwhile reason is that people usually are interested in movies and books that are not very similar to their reality because it is more exciting and helpful for them. In other words, maybe the type of books that someone study is correlated with his/her hidden preference or his/her failure. For example, my friend, Jina, really loves romance novels, and most of the time, she reads and reviews famous love-story books such as Remeo and Juliette. Nevertheless, she is really unfriendly in her relationships and prefers to remain in her shell without any socializing. Surprisingly, when she broke up with her boyfriend, I did not see any sorrow in her feeling because leaving people for her is completely easy. Although I supposed that she must be a really romantic girl before close communication with her, after more socializing and experience, I understood that she is not like her favorite books.

To sum up, although someone’s interests are considerable clues to predict his/her behaviors and preferences, I think it is not a significant way for achieving information about people due to the fact that they are more sophisticated than something we suppose. Moreover, maybe people behave differently from their outer picture; therefore, I do not judge someone with the first glimpse. Actually, a long time is needed to know individuals’ characteristics deeply.