Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: all university students should take basic science courses regardless of their field of study.

There is no doubt that education is the most important part of each society that affects one’s success directly and indirectly. Therefore, courses that are taught in universities should be selected efficiently. A controversial question here is that whether teaching basic sciences is beneficial for students or not. Some people, who disagree with the teaching basic concepts at universities, believe that university is a place to learn sophisticated subjects; however, it is my firm conviction that the duty of a university is to bring up scientists, engineers, and specialists who are professional in their field, and deeply know the basic concepts related to their fields. So, in my view, students should take basic science courses in the first year of their study. There are numerous advantages which support my opinion, two of which are going to aptly discussed in the following.

First and foremost, teaching elementary sciences to students helps them to learn advanced concepts more effectively because some basic sciences are necessary to understand more complex ones. For example, if someone did not learn the required simple formula in math, he/she can not solve difficult problems in algebra. In other words, gaining knowledge about basic sciences in each field paves the way for students to pass complex courses easier. Universities are responsible about providing appropriate situation for students; so, they should suggest some elementary lessons such as basic biology, math, sociology, and so on for various students especially freshmen. To clear the importance of passing basic sciences, when I studied Bioinformatics, which is an interdisciplinary field, at Shahid Beheshti University, I did not know anything about Biology because my bachelor’s major was Computer Sciences; therefore, understanding advanced Bioinformatic courses was highly complex to me. To handle this issue, I had should search the websites in order to find online basic molecular biology courses, and I struggled to gain knowledge about biology because unfortunately, the university did not provide any basic courses in this regard. Briefly, if a university provides effective courses which are basic but vital for students, students will experience more prosperity during their education.

Another reason that should be considered is that learning basic concepts with more details has an impact on passing a career interview more successfully. Students need to pass one interview or more in order to get a job or pursue their education. Additionally, these interviews are usually about basic concepts in students’ field. To take my personal experience as a compelling example, I have advanced knowledge about Data Science and Machine Learning algorithms; however, during some interviews with several companies such as Amazon, Microsoft, and so on, I felt a lot of stress because the interviews’ questions mostly were about elementary subjects that I could not remember them because I never studied them meticulously and formally. As a result, not only did I fail to get the jobs, but also I suspected to my knowledge because it is embarrassing that do not know basic concepts after several professional experiences in a field. Hence, it is better for students to learn basics at the university, and also try to remember them because this is may affect their future goals.

To sum up, training basic sciences is vital because it not only does help to learn sophisticated concepts more appropriately, but also assists them in having a successful interview in order to join academia or industry. However, I believe that each student has different characteristics. For example elite students do not need to pass basic sciences because the concepts are boring to them, and they already know them even better than teachers. Hence, taking basic sciences should not be mandatory; however, almost not always, it can enhance insight of students.