Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their field of study.

While majoring in Computer Science, I was required to take basic science courses like Physics and Biology in the first three years of my undergraduate study. My classmates hold different viewpoints when it comes to whether these irrelevant syllabuses should be made compulsory for us. As for me, I oppose all the college students being required to take basic science courses regardless of their majors, for the two reasons elaborated below.

In the first place, taking basic science courses can put additional academic pressure on students. It’s well-acknowledged that no matter what majors the students pursue, they are obliged to fully comprehend a series of professional courses, where students are expected to make efforts to master the certain essential theories or indispensable skills. Furthermore, numerous projects and examinations are employed to examine whether they understand and have become proficient in knowledge of the specific field or not. Taking these situations into consideration, a large proportion of students have already been under intense stress, not to mention how much pressure they will tolerate after basic science courses being added into their curriculums. Take my experience as an example, during my sophomore year, when several non-trivial computer courses like Algorithms and Data Structure were required to take, the only way I can master them is programming a lot in order to finish the projects assigned by professors, which were quite time-consuming and exhausting. However, at the same time, Physics was also demanded according to the curriculum assignment. As a result, faced with another unfamiliar subject, I found myself under great amounts of stress because I had more classes to attend and more tests to review for. To get good performance in all these subjects. I endeavored to code for courses in Computer Science and do the exercises for Physics at the expense of time and quality of my sleep. If I had a choice, I would not choose to have the basic science class, since those core courses were challenging enough for me to study.

In addition, taking basic science courses might cost lots of valuable time of students to equip themselves with other skills, such as communication, team cooperation, and leadership. Given that a student has to attend multiple additional classes and accomplish extra numerous projects, time and energy for him to enhance other skills must be limited while for those who only need to concentrate on their own fields of study, they can make use of the spare time to participate in various activities to improve those skills. The contrast between my friend Linda, majoring in Accounting and me can illustrate this point. She was not required to take basic science courses as I was. As a result, she had more time to participate in students union and clubs such as public speaking club, where she practiced and got used to delivering speeches to the public, while I was still afraid of even speaking in front of people till nowadays.

In a nutshell, although there exist a few benefits to attend basic science courses such as more equipped knowledge, it’s not a wise choice to require every college student enroll into the irrelevant lessons due to the fact that too much pressure on course learning and test-preparation would definitely overburden the students academically and prevent them enhancing other skills.