Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their field of study.

University courses lay a very solid academic foundation for the future development of college students. Facing the great selections of these courses, some people say that, basic science should be made compulsory for college students, for the reason that they could be more familiar with the advancement and evolution of human society. I disagree. I believe, despite minor merits, asking students of all majors to attend basic science classes would cause problems.

To begin with, science courses would put more academic pressure on students. College students have already had to study many theory and professional subjects related to their majors and their schedule is very tight. For example, a medical student is not only obliged to finish his professional papers for credit, but he also needs to find the opportunity to get clinical experience. His load is so heavy that he could not afford to take any irrelevant courses, such as basic science. In this case, schools should not add this course, because students would worry whether they could finish their homework on time and how they would pass final examinations.

Furthermore, a required science course would lead to unnecessary cost for parents and students. To guarantee the quality of lecturing, colleges have to hire talented and senior science professors and experts, such as those from the best-known universities or scientific research institutes. This would increase the cost of schooling. Normally, a lecture given by a famous science professor costs over 1,000 dollars. These costs would be reflected in the tuition fee and would deprive many underprivileged students of an opportunity for education.

Admittedly, taking basic science courses does have its merits. As a subject aiming to explain how the universe exists, basic science broadens student’s range of knowledge and enhance their analytical skills. Students could gain a deep understanding about the world they live in. Lots of methods to solve problems will be gained through basic science. However, this knowledge could be acquired by other method other than required courses. TV documentaries and books are all available options for student to learn basic science.

In conclusion, although there are some small benefits to requiring basic science courses, making every college student attend such classes would overburden the students both academically and financially.