Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their field of study.

When it comes to basic science courses, there are many elementary courses in different fields. Thus, whether the requirement of taking basic science courses would be an issue for all college students. In my opinion, I do agree with the statement. The reasons for my taking this position are as follows.

To begin with, comprehensively studying courses in different fields can facilitate students be able to solve real-world questions. In other words, all problems in the real world involve different kinds of basic knowledge, which is difficult for students only taking courses in their profession. For example, One of my friend, Jerry, was a computer science major student. As we know, the courses in the computer science department must be related to computers. Nevertheless, Jerry had to take physic courses when he was a freshman. He was still wondering why he had to take this course not until he started to be a computer games designer as his career. In the game world, he had to simulate the gravity effect as presenting in the real world. Therefore, he had to formulate an equation for computer programs to mimic gravity. That was a key feature for human beings playing games as they were in the real world. Therefore, taking basic science courses may help students to prepare for real-world problems. That is a reason for supporting my ideas.

Moreover, basic science courses can intrigue students' interests in different areas. To be more specific, students who are not really interested in their own profession may have chances to understand other fields. For example, when I was a freshman in college, my classmate, Jason, was not glad to enroll in our department. Jason was a hard-working student when he was in senior high school. He always studied very late at night in order to get admission to the leading universities. Eventually, he got the offer from National Taiwan University, which is the top school in Taiwan. However, he could not find his interests in the first semester because he spent all his leisure time to study. Once he had the chance to study fundamental computer science courses and finance lectures due to the requirement for all students, he found his true interest and transferred to finance major from the physic department. After transferring into the finance department, he spent a lot of time studying finance related courses and even doing research projects with the professor. Thus, students are able to find their own interests by taking elementary courses in different fields. I would support the claim based on the aforementioned reason.

To sum up, basic science courses for students in different studying areas can benefit students by evoking their interests and training skills. Students are able to find a novel insight out of their professions. With the previous reasons, I firmly do agree with the statement.