Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their field of study.

Some people say that science is the basic foundation of all courses and one should definately study it regardless of the field they are interested in, however I disagree with the statement that university students should take basic science courses for the following two reasons :

Firstly, someone interested in history or political sciences need not need to know any scientific stuff to excel at their respective fields. For example during my first year of college, a friend of mine was interested in pursuing historical arts as his major but the university curriculum forced him to study three science courses. He ended up doing all the three courses so that he could complete his degree but they did not help him at all with his major. He was interested in art and how subjective or objective one painting could be, what are the thoughts inside an artists head when making a specific painting and stuff like that. It was fairly difficult for him to comprehend how taking three science courses would help him with his field of interest.

Secondly, a student not good at science might just get bad grades in these courses despite them being good at their respective major hurting their overall grades. As I recall one of my close friends who quit college solely because he was not able to put his mind to get decent grades in the basic science courses making him not worthy of a degree. The major he came to pursue in college was human behavior and emotions which dealt more with live examples rather than anything science could explain. He talked about how interesting it is to see how humans behave based on certain characteristics and how they respond to specific type of questions. He was very good at reading and predicting human behavior but unfortunately had no background or interest in science.

It might be true that science lays the basic foundation for most of the courses and it is important for one to know these basics. People who are interested in science or people who want to explore other fields might really benefit from the university making them do rudimentary science courses. They can gauge their interests in the start itself and see if they like the field. For example a person pursuing masters in architecture might reallky like the initial science courses related to math and help her in architecture along the way since in architecture one needs to know some maths to calculate the approximate dimensions of the buildings and interiors.

However, this issue is complex as it has beneficial to some students whereas not that great for others. Optional science courses would be the best way to accomodate both sides of the crowd. Nevertheless, I still contend that that making science courses compulsory for students in not the right way forward.