Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People would be happier with fewer possessions.

In the modern era, being happy and having mental health is difficult because life is more complex than every other time. A controversial question here is whether happiness in the world related to somebody’s possessions or not. I totally believe that people with more possessions have more satisfaction; so, people with less money are not as happy as wealthy ones. My reasons to support my idea are discussed in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, humans try to increase their possessions because this enhances their fulfillment. For more clarification, someone goes to work and struggle to achieve money in order to buy his/her accessories, house, car or any other things. This amount of endeavors is just for boosting their possessions and well-being. For example, suppose a man who does not have a house; therefore, he has rented an apartment, and all days is worry about expenditures and renting. Due to the lack of amenity and wealth, he is not joyful. Conversely, wealthy people that have a fancy lifestyle and can purchase worthy things, have more peace and enjoyment in their life. In other words, the more money and value we earn in our living, the more positive sense we feel.

Secondly, possessions attract others attention and this let individuals to gain more value and success. We as a human live in a society that is constituted by different persons; therefore, the level of our prosperity and happiness are significantly correlated with others behaviors and decisions. Accordingly, how much other parts of society pay attention to us and help us, we can progress. For example, during my childhood, my friend, Mina, who her father was a businessman with a massive amount of money and possessions, was a star in our class because all my classmates care about her more than normal. Not only did the students help her in various courses such as math and science, but also all girls compare themselves with her and like her hugely. As a result, she was always like a brilliant diamond in the class that smiled more than an impoverished girl.

To sum up, fewer possessions do not let people to feel happiness because negative things and events encompassed them. So, the flourishing and fulfillment of somebody is remarkably depended on her/his achievements. We all know that it is not good news about a human being, but unfortunately the essence of a human is like this. Good news is that we can control it by different strategies in order to be happy in all circumstances.