Consider a situation where you are asked by your supervisor to work with one of your co-workers on a project. This co-worker has opinions that are very different than yours. Moreover, they feel very strongly about these opinions.

Do you think this is a good idea? Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is no secret that in the 21st-century cooperation is a significant part of today societies and no one can deny the direct and indirect effect of this matter on human beings’ lives. From home’s chores to working on a project in the work environment, all these containing cooperation. The controversial question arises regarding this issue is whether working with the colleague who has entirely different opinions is a good idea especially when it is a request from an authority like a supervisor. I personally think this situation as a useful one. I am of this opinion because of two main reasons that I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

The first reason coming to my mind to substantiate my standpoint is that working with someone who has converse ideas than mine leads me to come up with new ideas. although at first, it might be challenging, since he would not let me conduct my opinion despite the fact that they were right and priceless, in this way I will be informed of different solutions that he suggests and is impossible to reach through my regular way of thinking. For instance, years ago I was hired in a pioneer company in my major field. At first, everything was consistent with my expectations, but it does not last a long time until I found that my co-worker who has a common project is impenetrable to my ideas. It was hard for me to handle the situation to not be irritated when he was overlooking my ideas. Additionally, it was a valuable company and I did not want to give it up. From when I tried to overcome my negative emotions about him and try to listen to him, his opinions opened a window to considering the new aspects of the problems. Had I gave up those company or tried to change my place in the company against the idea of manager, now I would not have this unique perspective toward my field.

The second reason has worth to be mentioned is that cooperation with unreceptive colleagues makes us both patient and a good listener. Being in the hard conditions in which there is no other alternative, causes the individual to tolerate it for not losing the more valuable things, like a good job or the attention of a supervisor, what was important to me. Therefore, these all make us being more patient, also to listen better and avoid debates. As I said above, I tried to manage the interaction between myself and my colleague and eventually our project worked out well. Since then now I am working in the other section of the company, so I have other co-workers and our communication is satisfactory. They respect me a lot and surprisingly consider me as a patient person who pays a lot of attention to listen to them. I believe that my new manner is the revolution that has occurred gradually inside me after two years of working with a firm-idea colleague.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that being in a tough situation like working with someone who is not open to the new ideas have myriad of advantages. Although there might be some pressures in beginning, it will conduct us to have better qualities including more patient, a better listener, and also whose horizon in the work area has enhanced.