Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, we see that the new generation differs every day in every aspect and behavior. Personally, I believe that today's young adults are much independent than what their pers were before. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

Firstly, I think that nowadays kids cannot expect their parents to devour all their time to them. That is young people learn from early ages to become independent because their parents are usually do not have enough time to spend with them, so they often should make decisions themselves. Young individuals are, most of the time, lonely. As a result, they usually cannot have a friendly relationship with their parents, so they have to decide what is better without considering what their parents think. For example, when I was in high school, my mother was always at work because she was a nurse. She even sometimes came home after two or three days, and when she arrived home, she was too exhausted to talk to me, so I could not depend on her that much. The absence of my mother leads me to become more independent because I had to do most of the things alone, such as preparing my meal, going to school, and also big decisions. However, today's busy lives have so many disadvantages for kids, but it helps them to become independent young adults.

Secondly, in today's society, there are more job opportunities for young adults such as part-time jobs which can help them to improve their abilities and become mature sooner. It is more common these days that young people go to work part-time jobs in the summer. Although these jobs do not have good salaries, being around adults in the workplace and seeing how they communicate with other people, and how they make decisions in tough situations, make young people act like an adult to improve their social abilities, and eventually get better job positions and salaries. For instance, when my brother was seventeen years old, he became a waiter in a famous restaurant in which famous people came to have their meals. He had to make better decisions each day to become a better employee and get a raise. In fact, by the end of the summer, he was not that naive young highschool boy once he was. His social behavior improved a lot, and even he could suggest better ideas to me when I wanted to do something meaningful. By and large, today's workforce opportunities can make young individuals mature at an early age, and they can decide better even in the hard days.

To put it in a nutshell, I think nowadays young people experience more difficulties such as being lonely most of the time because of their busy parents, and better job opportunities that they both result in becoming a better decision-maker themselves than what we expect from their peers before.