Tpo51- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, we are facing a hectic modern life in which people are too busy with the financial issues that they cannot have fun like the way it was five decades ago. Meanwhile, movies are still one of the most entertaining things that people can have in their life. I believe that these days, the disadvantages of movies outweigh their advantages for young people. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

Firstly, today's movie contents are mainly inappropriate for teenagers. The films are basically about luxurious lives, and people who earned them in those movies are not hard-working individuals. In other words, when young people see those movies, they think that without having a goal and being eligible, they can become successful or earn a lot of money. Whereas in real life, people who want to experience welfare have to devote all of their time to promote themselves. For example, when my sister was in the second grade of high school, she saw a movie with similar content. In that film, a young boy became a singer after putting his video on YouTube. My sister believed that she could become a singer by just uploading videos on the internet, so she barely studied anymore. As a result, she failed most of her exams that year, so these kinds of movies are a bad idea for teenagers to watch.

Secondly, watching television is time-consuming when the most valuable thing for teenagers is their time. While young people should spend most of their time studying and doing sports, it is not a suitable thing for them to devote their time to watching television programs. They have to prepare themselves for the future by putting their effort into studying and being healthy by exercising. For instance, when I was at college, I was addicted to watching television series. Watching series took a lot of my time every day. In consequence, after finishing college, I did not have enough knowledge about my major, so it was a tough task for me to find a proper job because, in my interviews, I was not the skilled one among the other opponents.

To put it in a nutshell, I feel Movies are not the right way for entertaining young people because their contents are mostly not suitable for them and they are a waste of time.