Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Some people think that young people in that past are more depended on their parents to make decisions than today young people, while others think vice versa. From my perspective, it is true that young people in the past depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them than today young people. In the following paragraphs, I will explain my reasons in detail.

To begin with, young people, nowadays, are more literate than young people in the past. This is a fact that people can make their own decisions when they know all aspects of their decision. Educational environment is one of the best situations that young people can analyze all aspects of their decisions. For example, I remember that my mother always tell me how my elder brother got help from my parents in every decisions of him; such as buying a cloth till choosing a university. He did that because he was not sure about the consequence of his own decision. However, I always depend on myself to making a decision because I learn to see all aspects of my decisions.

Moreover, you can't deny the fact that technological improvement such as internet and social medias can help today young people to make their decisions. You can make decision by surfing the web and ask questions about your choices in an online forum. Then somebody who has the proper knowledge in that field will help you. For instance, when I want to buy a cloth, tool, or everything, I simply search the web for pros and cons of that good. This is a way how the internet help me to choose the proper good.

Taking all the factors above into consideration, I briefly explain my reasons about why I think young people nowadays are more independent in making decisions than young people in the past. It is not only because of the literacy of young people, but also technological improvement help this fact.