Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The writer claims that convincing someone with an opposing viewpoint could be the best test for argument ability because defending an idea against someone on opposite viewpoint can show how powerful the idea is. I can agree with neither the claim and nor the reason as I find them both problematic.

Firstly, in some situation one side of an argument had fewer knowledge in the field of an argument. As you should consider, arguing needs abundant knowledge to be convincing to an opposite viewpoint. Your knowledge determine whether you win an argument or lose it. As you see, convincing someone who has opposite viewpoint doesn’t really matter because, sometimes you can convince an opposing point of view by your knowledge even though you know that the opposing side was true. So, convincing someone who against your idea is not a perfect ruler for testing argument ability. In my perspective, an argument can be test by the knowledge of both side.

However, as I mention in the introductory paragraph, I disagree with a reason too. The value of an idea could not be measure by defending that idea against doubts and opposing viewpoints. A simple reason for this claim is that you consider more detail about an idea when you want defending it against opposite side. It is really difficult to put it in words but if you keep digging your idea you may be know how empty it is. As a result, your idea become more and more weaken in your idea. Besides, I mention above that your idea can be completely wrong and if you insist defending it, you made a fool of yourself.

In sum, I briefly explain about the fact that not only convincing opposing side cannot be helpful, but also you need knowledge to measure your argument. After that, I consider a situation in which you can find problems in reason too.