Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making decision is an important part of our lives. We have to make decision about employment, marriage, education. We have to decide about a lot of things in our everyday life. Some people belive that in the past young people dependent on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to mjake decision about their own lives; others disagree. In my view, youth are better able to make decision about their own lives than in the past for several imprtant reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First, technology advances every day. It is obvious that for making a good decision you need some related information. In the past young people did not have those information so they had to rely on their parents or others. But now every one can access to a lot of information about a variety of subjects. They can gain their essential information through the Internet easily and quickly. For example, when I was in high school I needed to declare my major to study at university. I create an excel file and listed some of interested areas. I use the Internet and find a lot of information about them such as which universitis have my interests, where those universitie are situated, whether they are near my house or are away and so on. After that I listed them based on some factors such as my interest, distance, their ranks. Finaly I selected Computer engineering in my city. It was very easy. As you can see, I just research about what I need and make my own decision myself.

Second, valuse and mitivations are changed during the time. Youth are a new generation. Values are changed, as a result, it is important that they can make a better decision than their parents. For example, in my family, my parents try to make decision based on their beliefs which sometime are against my beliefs. One time I wanted to make decision about employment. I had three options of jobs: a computer teacher, a sales manager, a programer in a computer company. My parents recommended me to be a computer teacher. They said it is a good work because you teach at school and you would have some respect. On the other hand, I intended to study computer in abroad. As a matter of fact, I needed some considerable money to go abroad. So I had to opt a sales manager. So your values and motivation may be very different from your parents which result in different decisions.

To sum up, I strongly believe that young people are better able to make decision. Not only does technology advance, but values and motivations are changed from one generation to another. To make decision every one are better able to make decision about their own lives but they can consult with their parents.