Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, human beings, particularly young people, have faced difficult situations in which require true decision. Moreover, making decision always requires someone who can underestimate all aspects of choices. In this regard, a contentious question arises and that is who the best person to consult with is? Should young adults make decision on their own or listen to their parents? In my opinion, parents are the most important and influential people in every individual's life and without their advice, children are slightly likely to pave their ways in success. However, in some special circumstances, parents should not be involved and youngsters have to choice. In what follows, I will explore my double-side point of view about this issue.

First off, one should take into account this undeniable fact that parents are more experienced compared to children in some problematic conditions. They might have been in similar occasions and they are aware of all repercussion of making decision. Thus, they are more likely to show children better ways and consequences. For instance, take my brother as an example. He was about to getting married with one of his classmates who was not so well-behavior. He did not know that whether he has made a right decision or not. He came to my parents and consulted with them. However, my parents allowed him to put himself in such marriage, they gave him some advice that ended up to finish his relationship with her. If he went through this marriage, he would definitely made himself myriad problems.

On the other hands, there are some situations in which parents cannot help their children and children should consider their desire and favor solely. By that I mean, parents do not have enough information to help them out and if they engage in their children decision, their children might have gotten regret. Either parents or some other people who are not informed enough could make them a lot of troubles. For instance, children are about picking up their favorite major course in the university. If their parents, either intendedly or unintendedly involve themselves or make them to do according to their own desire, children will definitely loss their motivation and they will be less likely to be prosperous.

To put it briefly, contemplating both sides, one soon realizes parents should interfere themselves in some decision, however, their presences are not needed in some occasions. They should have an eye in both sides. Thus, I strongly recommend that parents distinguish between when they should choice and when they should not.