Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the heavy burdens on the shoulder of parents is raising their children who are well-adjusted in every given society, away from all prevailing anamolities. Indeed, parents bend over backward and make an effort to help their children cope with trials and tribulations in order to reach success. Stemming from this fact, a relevant question that is a moot point is whether youngsters are now dependent on their parents or in the past. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent of the conviction that juveniles in these days are more dependent on their parents. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

To commence with, it is established beyond doubt that young people are pillars of every given society and they play a significant role in all nations. Indeed, they have to experience life for themselves and parents should patronize them to reach the pinnacle of their lives. Generally phrased, although adults need to be supported by their parents in order to achieve their goals, hardly can they make a progress day in day out when they rely on their parents. As a tangible example, in the past parents provide fertile ground for their children to experience life for themselves and become familiar with independent life. Because of this reason we now are the witness that those young people are self-sufficient and successful in their personal lives and career. Conversely, nowadays parents just cosset their children and do not allow their children to explore life exclusively. To elucidate more on this issue, young people in the past were more successful and able to cope with different difficulties owing to the fact that they did not rely on someone else.

Another reason that should not go unnoticed is that in the past young people were more able to come up with a sound decision because parents took their ideas into consideration and did not behave in a way that their children are not important. In this situation, not only can parents improve esteem and confidence of their children but also can provide an opportunity for them to grow maturely. Going into the depth, in today's hectic city of life, parents behave like a dictator and they always make decisions instead of their children. So, in such situations, young people will become certainly dependent on their parents.

However, this is the one side of a coin. Today's parents are more likely to let their children make decisions because they are knowledgeable and aware of consequences of dependence too much on others. In the past, due to the paucity of knowledge and information parents always made decisions for their children because they were inclined toward the opinion that young people are not mature enough to come up with objective decisions.