Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

I agree that young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives today than young people in the past. My reason is that they make decisions based on their knowledge and advice from professionals rather than the advice from their parents. Besides, they are more financially independent so they don’t need to follow their parents’ wishes.

In the first place, nowadays young people acquire knowledge easier than young men did in the past, so they are better able to make decisions about their own lives. For example, the internet is well developed today, and young people use the internet to get a huge amount of information they need to make decisions. In contrast, twenty years ago, people relied more on their parents who have more experience to make decisions because they had fewer resources to gain knowledge. They only had accesses to limited information from newspaper and TV programs. Consequently young people today are more equipped to make informed decision for their own.

In addition, young people today tend to seek advice from people besides their parents. To be more specific, they consult their friends who work in various fields to get specific information they need. Moreover, there are many consultants with professional knowledge in modern society and young people have easy access to them. Take myself for example, when I have to make a decision about what insurance policy to buy, I ask for advice from friends who work as insurance agents.

Last but not least, young people today are more financially independent and as a result, they are capable of making decision about their own lives. In other words, if they can have financial support from other sources besides their parents, they can make decisions on their own. For example, if students want to attend college, they can pay by the scholarships or the money made from taking part-time jobs. However, in the past, the financial support from parents decides whether students could attend college. That is, financial independence enables young people make decisions based on their own will nowadays.

In conclusion, I believe that young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them in the past. Today, young generation are the main decision maker in making decisions about their own lives, because they are able to acquire the information they need through various sources. Furthermore, their decision won’t be affected by their parents because they don’t rely on their financial support.