Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's progressive world we live in, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that parents play a leading role in their children's social life. Even though some sociologists claim that young people are still dependent on their parents for making decisions, as in the past, I would like to state they are now better in making decisions on their own. There two main reasons why I feel this way, which are going to be explained with examples in the following essay.

In the first place, with growing technology, young people are better able to learn various social behavior skills. In other words, if teenagers do not have access to computer and or internet, they will not learn as fast as others who are benefiting these technologies. Actually by doing this, they will kill two birds by one stone because they not only learn, but also would have some extra time, which can be devoted to learning some other social skills, due to the fact that they are saving time by using the technology. An experience in my own life could be a proper example to illustrate this point. When I was 14, my father bought me a computer. Loving the technology, I started learning my homework through the computer. In merely 6 months, I ranked first in our class. That was because of using technology and considering that I was the only person in the class that takes advantage of computer.

Another factor that should be taken into consideration is that present-day parents are not so passionate about teaching their children as the parents used to be in the past. In consequence, it leads to some changes in ways their children raise. The children would rely on themselves to learn various social and other skills. As a case in point, my younger brother, who is 9 now, is always searching through books and internet to find answer of his problems.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that nowadays, most of the younger people are better able to make decisions on their own. This is because of growing technology and because of decreasing parents' enthusiasm about tutoring their children.