The government is going to give some money either to support the arts or to protect the environment. Which do you think the government should choose? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s turbulent economic situation, it is difficult for governments to decide which areas to spend money on. Some people believe that it is important to fund the arts, while others feel that it is preferable to prioritize environmental issues. In my opinion, protecting the environment is more important than funding the arts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, environmental problems are a more urgent concern than issues surrounding the arts. While we are certainly living in a society where the arts are more severely under-funded, the environment is a matter of life and death for many people. The consequences of environmental degradation not only hit close to home, but also affect human beings all over the world. For example, I recently read a report in a major newspaper which pointed out that within three decades certain countries in South Asia will suffer from catastrophic flooding as a result of global warming. One country that was mentioned was Bangladesh, which just happens to be the poorest nation in the region. As a result of the poverty that currently affects that country, public officials there are wholly unable to tackle the problem on their own. This means that nations in the developed world need to fund programs that will help them deal with the looming crisis.

Moreover, while arts funding is a wonderful idea, it is entirely possible for artistic and cultural programs to be privately funded. Many businesses and individuals are more than willing to make donations to artists in exchange for promotional considerations. Not only that, but the Internet has made it possible for artists to fund their work through online “crowdfunding” promoted through social networking sites. For example, there is a community theatre group in my hometown which recently lost a significant portion of its public funding following recent budget cuts by the municipal government. While the situation looked dire at first, the group was able to attract financial support from companies who wished to have their logo displayed on theatre programs and assorted paraphernalia. In addition, the company took to the Internet and raised money from individual donors who wanted nothing more than to help their favorite theatre group. These examples demonstrate some of the methods that artistic groups can use to attract funding to replace government support in times of economic trouble. The amounts of money needed to solve environmental programs, in contrast, cannot be raised using such methods.

In conclusion, I feel that if the government is forced to make a choice, it should choose to fund environmental programs rather than the arts. I feel this way because environmental problems are a more pressing concern and because the arts can often be privately funded.