Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's world, being popular is an inevitable phenomenon that everyone presumably needs. Even though some sociologists claim that the idea of celebrities has the same value to younger people as it has to older ones, but, as for me, I would like to declare that it is more significant to the younger people in comparison with the older ones. There are two main reasons why I feel this way, which are going to be elaborated on in the following essay.

In the first place, younger people have more free times than older people, as a wise person once said, "The more older you get, the more busy you will be." Consequently, younger groups of people probably are more in touch with celebrities due to the fact that they want something for their free time to enjoy it. With respect to the sociology research, as a case in point, accomplished in the University of British Columbia on June 5, 2007, it can be distinctly understood that in Toronto, the ratio of having free time for younger people to the older ones is 2.89. Thus, it is transparent that younger people are freer than the elderly.

There is also the fact that due the complexity of life, older people are not passionately inclined towards celebrities. On the other hand, it is true that younger people, because of their age and responsibilities, experience less complexity in their life, unless there is an exception. An experience in my own life can be an appropriate example to illustrate the point. My older brother, John, who is 38 years old now, is always telling me that had he a second chance to come back to his childhood, he would definitely pay more attention to the famous singers and dancers of the United States, because his life is so complicated now that he even cannot watch television more than three times a week. Therefore, this example clearly demonstrates the point.

So what are we to conclude? If taking into account all the factors mentioned in the article, is not it crystal clear that the argued point is more important to the younger people than older ones? Notwithstanding some other sociologists insisting on to be disapproved of the idea, personally, for me, it is more likely for the former point of view to be of more value.