Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By dawn of metropolis, people typically need to use different modes of transportation depending on their needs and ability to afford the expense. While the most expensive one is automobile, people still drive by their own cars. Therefore, when it come to the question whether there will be fewer cars in use than today in next twenty years, different people adopt different attitudes toward this question depending on their characters and educational backgrounds. There are people who adhere to the belief that cars will be more common in future since companies will produce cheaper and more convenient cars to fulfill variety of people’s expectations; on the other hand, others believe that public transportation will take the place of cars in near future. As far as I am personally concerned, the latter carries further weight since not only do people save their time and money but also do they reduce air pollution and protect environment.

Using public transportation has several benefits for people. First, people can save their time since there will be super fast subway metro which can transport people from place to place shorter than the time they need to drive by their car. Besides, they won’t be stuck to traffic congestion, become tired and late. Moreover, people can save money by using public transportation. In fact, public transportation will become cheaper as long as more people start to use it. Therefore, people can spend this money to purchase important stuffs. Furthermore, public transportation also gives people the chance to socialize with others and make new friends. Subsequently, the improvement in public transportation in next twenty years will encourage people to widely use them.

In addition, Public transportation has several benefit for the society. First, fewer cars in use mean having more blue sky during the year. In fact, there is a direct relation between the number of cars in use and air pollution. In other words, many cars mean more traffic congestion, more air pollution and more death. Then, if people want to have a beautiful city without air pollution, they should use public transportation instead of private cars in future. Apart from that, government can also save irreplaceable resources such as petroleum in order to be used in important affairs. Therefore, having a clean sky require people to use public transportation in near future.

To wrap it up, people will use fewer cars in next twenty years since it is helpful for individuals and the society as a whole. I think government have to increase the price of petrol in order to encourage people to use public transportation instead of their private cars, if they want to control air pollution and reduce traffic jam.